2017

By seeking to distort the realities that surround him through simple elements, the use of know-how and materials abandoned and gleaned from others, François-Xavier's sculptures become surprising.

His identity is played out in a context of resourcefulness and handmade, that he voluntarily imposes himself as a decisive constraint in the existence of his work.

It is as much a desire for painting as for sculpture, by borrowing an ancestral definition designating sculpture as a removal of material and that of the painting composed of the frame and the stretched canvas.

The image that emerges from these compositions is, without a doubt, that of bladed weapons. However, each sign appears to us differently, tells us about one thing or another. Having fun reading the shapes, he scrambles the tracks, playing on the automatisms of each one.

A weapon instills in us a feeling of violence and danger. His own automatism consists in applying his perception of things thanks to these sculptures disarmed of their murderous functions in favor of a reappropriation of their ability to stick and cut.

From this is born the term

Hooked up ”, requiring a violent and energetic gesture in order to put these sculptures in situations.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Arranged in this way, they change their status and become paintings. These compositions include the different characteristics that define it. Components such as wood constituting the frame, the fabric representing the canvas and the paint being applied to the wood. The work is sculptural but includes these different components that make it a painting.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

This work also questions energy and impact. Having as a tool a slingshot which calls upon various supports having the capacity to reveal the indelible marks of the impact which I designate as an instant T, an instant Shooting. The energy of this shot is then imprisoned

At sonic and imperceptible speed expressing a certain violence of impregnation of the form. Thus a semblance of emotion is transmitted, a certain reaction to the stigmata of an intangible gesture.

It would also be a question of developing an element which becomes sculpture, by definition, thanks to the removal of material. A transformation process that takes place only from a distance, a game in which he lets himself be guided by a slingshot which becomes the design tool for his sculpture-paintings.

Liking to work on feelings, intuition and link his work to a context which is not, a priori, that of war, he likes irreversibility, an omnipresent element in the design of his pieces. It forces him to do with what has been done without having the ability to change the past and requires some acceptance.

He brings to my work an aspect of poverty by privileging the process of action to the finished object. Its process then brings a questioning on a capitalist consumption where one likes to throw away before repairing, to buy rather than to recover. It constitutes a bellicose imagination of survivalist consumption, a warlike language of free creation to launch us towards new rites and habits.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Impacts 2017

153 x 62 cm, 158 x 58 cm, 124 x 57 cm, variable height x variable width.
Slingshots in plaster, insulating foam, metal rods, wood, pebbles, paint.
ESBA Nîmes.

Impacts II 2017

105 x 76 cm, 50 x 75 cm
Slingshots in chipboard, paint, rope, wood, steel balls, hook.
ESBA Nîmes.

DSC_6077.png

Impacts III 2017

173 x 28 cm, 129 x 26 cm
Slingshots in clay, paint, wood, steel balls.

ESBA Nîmes.

Knives (hung-planted) 2017

112 x 67 cm. Wood, paint, steel. ESBA Nîmes.

Olé 2017

Variable dimensions
Torero hood and banderillas for children.
Photo of the exhibition Remise en forme at ESBAN

in December 2017.

IMG_1766.png

Burel money band

on gold background. 2017

205 cm x variable width
Yellow vests, wood, rope, ax iron.

Photograph taken during the 2017 Graduates exhibition at ESBAN.

2017

En cherchant à distordre les réalités qui l’entourent à travers des éléments simples, l’utilisation de savoir-faire et de matériaux délaissés et glanés auprès d’autrui, les sculptures de François-Xavier deviennent surprenantes.

Son identité se joue dans un contexte de débrouille et de fait-main, qu'il s'impose volontairement comme une contrainte décisive de l’existence de son travail.

 

C’est tout autant un désir de peinture que de sculpture, en empruntant une définition ancestrale désignant la sculpture comme un enlèvement de matière et celle du tableau composée du châssis et de la toile tendue.

 

L’image qui ressort de ces compostions est, sans aucun doute, celle des armes blanches. Cependant, chaque signe nous apparaît différemment, nous parle d’une chose ou d’une autre. S'amusant sur la lecture des formes, il brouille les pistes, en jouant sur les automatismes de chacun.

 

Une arme nous insuffle un sentiment de violence et de danger. Son automatisme à lui consiste à appliquer sa perception des choses grâce à ces sculptures désarmées de leur fonctions meurtrières au profit d’une réappropriation de leur capacité à se planter et à découper.

 

À partir de cela, naît le terme

« d’accroché-planté », nécessitant un geste violent et énergique de façon à mettre ces sculptures en situations.

Disposées ainsi, elles changent de statut et deviennent tableaux. Ces compositions comprennent les différentes caractéristiques qui le définissent. Des composants comme le bois constituant le châssis, le tissu représentant la toile et la peinture venant s’appliquer sur le bois. L’œuvre est sculpturale mais comprend ces différents composants qui font d’elle une peinture.

 

 

 

Ce travail questionne aussi l’énergie et l’impact. Ayant pour outil un lance-pierre qui fait appel à différents supports ayant la capacité de laisser apparaître les stigmates indélébiles de l’impact que je désigne comme un instant T, un instant Tir. L’énergie de ce tir se retrouve alors emprisonnés

 

À vitesse sonique et imperceptible exprimant une violence certaine d’imprégnation de la forme. Ainsi un semblant d’émotion est transmis, une certaine réaction face aux stigmates d’un geste impalpable.

 

Il s’agirait de développer également un élément qui devient sculpture, par définition, grâce à un enlèvement de matière. Un processus de transformation qui s’effectue uniquement à distance, un jeu où il se laisse guider par un lance-pierre qui devient l’outil de conception de ses sculptures-tableaux.

 

Aimant travailler sur le ressenti, l’intuition et relier son travail à un contexte qui n’est, a priori, pas celui de la guerre, il aime l’irréversibilité, élément omniprésent dans la conception de ses pièces. Cela l’oblige à faire avec ce qui a été fait sans avoir la possibilité de modifier le passé et nécessite une part d’acceptation.

 

Il apporte à mon travail un aspect de pauvreté en privilégiant le processus d’action à l’objet fini. Son processus apporte alors un questionnement sur une consommation capitaliste où l’on aime jeter avant de réparer, acheter plutôt que récupérer. Il constitue un imaginaire belliqueux de consommation survivaliste, un langage guerrier de libre création pour nous lancer vers de nouveaux rites et habitus.

 

Impacts 2017

153 x 62 cm, 158 x 58 cm, 124 x 57 cm, hauteur variable x largeur variable.
Tires au lance-pierre dans du plâtre, de la mousse isolante, tiges métalliques, bois, cailloux, peinture.
ESBA Nîmes.

Impacts II 2017

105 x 76 cm, 50 x 75 cm
Tires au lance-pierre dans de l’aggloméré, peinture, corde, bois, billes d’acier, crochet.
ESBA Nîmes.

DSC_6077.png

Impacts III 2017

173 x 28 cm, 129 x 26 cm
Tires au lance-pierre dans de l’argile, peinture, bois, billes d’acier. ESBA Nîmes.

Couteaux (accroché-planté) 2017

112 x 67 cm. Bois, peinture, acier. ESBA Nîmes.

Olé 2017

Dimensions variables
Capote de torero et banderilles pour enfant.
Photo de l’exposition Remise en forme à l’ESBAN

en décembre 2017. 

IMG_1766.png

Bande d'argent burelées

sur fond d'or.  2017

205 cm x largeur variable
Gilets jaunes, bois, corde, fer de hache.

Photographie prise durant l'exposition des Diplômés 2017

à l'ESBAN.