The work of François-Xavier Laloi finds its driving force in environmental injustice by pointing the finger at human consumerism and its harmful rejection on the planet.

 

It is with a touch of claim that he seeks to put artificial elements in their rightful place by repackaging them in the field of art.

François-Xavier's work is part of a process of upcycling; why continue to produce new elements when we can reshape the old ones according to these needs?

François-Xavier is positioned against the phenomenon of overproduction by using poor materials resulting from human overconsumption, such as pallets, plastic sheeting, ropes and marine pieces. The artist then acts as a mediator by intervening on these elements.

At first, the artist's activity is a stroll in the environment that surrounds him in order to glean and recover his poor materials. Then, he sublimates them, giving them a new life, until they reach synchronic compositions in the redefinition of these objects.

His previous series Before I was a tree (2018) evoked an attempt to return to a semblance of naturalness while retaining the soul of the material. The Sutures (2019), for their part, denounce the desire to repair the material, damaged voluntarily by a third person, by providing care in the manner of a surgeon.

If these works sound the alarm bell on this behavioral gravity, the artist also seeks to "pass the pill" with a touch of humor and derision in his titles, ( Before I was a christmas tree 2018, A la mussel fishing, I don't want to go there mom 2020, Seascape (de) 2021) instead inviting the viewer to take a new look at the elements he assembles.

Arriving in Puglia, it was with amazement that François-Xavier Laloi noticed a decline in civility towards the Mediterranean. Faced with this observation, he continues his process of recovering-recycling-sublimating, with particular attention to the relationship he has with the sea. It is by helping him, on his own scale, that a flirtation takes place. is established with what it spits out; simple waste which in his eyes has an inestimable plastic value. It is like falling in love in front of this disgusting maritime that he chooses to sublimate by incorporating them into his works. Thus, it establishes a close link between the land and maritime border by exploring new questions.

The artist

François-xavier Laloi.jpg

Biography

Born in 1993, the French artist, François-Xavier Laloi is known for his sculptures of assemblages of materials from human consumption.

During his wanderings in urban and natural environments, he notices an abandonment with regard to certain artificial objects which have reached the end of their life and use.

As he began to harvest, a flirtation was established between the artist and these artefacts. He fell in love in front of them and seeks to reveal the beauty that he feels towards them by attributing to them a preciousness.

François-Xavier's work is part of a process of upcycling in order to sanctify these rejections of humanity.

He sounds the alarm on gravity and seeks to pass the pill with derision and poetry in his works.

 

In 2020, François-Xavier Laloi moved to Puglia, in southern Italy, where he continues his work, this time with a particular interest in the sea and the rubbish it spits out. This maritime disgust, imprinted with human repressions, has, in the eyes of the artist, a singular value with which he likes to have fun to compose his astonishing assemblages.

Le travail de François-Xavier Laloi trouve son moteur dans l'injustice environnementale en pointant du doigt le consumérisme de l'homme et son rejet néfaste sur la planète.

 

C'est avec un pointe de revendication, qu'il cherche à remettre à sa juste place des éléments artificiels en les reconditionnant dans le champ de l'art. 

L'œuvre de François-Xavier s'intègre dans un processus de surcyclage ; pourquoi continuer à produire de nouveaux éléments alors que l'ont peut remodeler les anciens selon ces besoins ?

François-Xavier se positionne contre le phénomène de surproduction en ayant recours à des matériaux pauvres issus de la surconsommation humaine, telle des palettes, des bâches en plastique, des cordes et des bouts marins.  L'artiste fait alors office de médiateur en intervenant sur ces éléments.

Dans un premier temps, l'activité de l'artiste est une déambulation dans l'environnement qui l'entoure afin de glaner et récupérer ses matériaux pauvres. Puis, il vient les sublimer, en leur redonnant une nouvelle vie, jusqu'à atteindre des compositions synchroniques dans la redéfinition de ces objets.

Sa précédente série Before I was a tree (2018) évoquait une tentative de retourner à un semblant de naturel en conservant l'âme de la matière. Les Sutures (2019), quant à elles, dénoncent la volonté de réparer la matière, accidentée volontairement par une tierce personne, en y apportant un soin à la manière d'un chirurgien.

Si ces œuvres tirent la sonnette d'alarme sur cette gravité comportementale, l'artiste cherche aussi à "faire passer la pilule" avec une pointe d'humour et de dérision dans ses intitulés, (Before I was a christmas tree 2018, A la pêche aux moules, je ne veux plus y aller maman 2020, Paysage de mer(de) 2021) en invitant plutôt le spectateur à porter un nouveau regard sur les éléments qu'il assemble.

En arrivant dans les Pouilles, c'est avec stupéfaction que François-Xavier Laloi a constaté un déclin de civilité à l'égard de la Méditerranée. Face à ce constat, il continue son procédé de récupérer-recycler-sublimer, avec une attention particulière à la relation qu'il entretient avec la mer. C'est en lui venant en aide, à son échelle, qu'un flirt s'est établie avec ce qu'elle recrache; de simples déchets qui ont à ses yeux, une valeur plastique inestimable. Il est comme tomber en amour devant ce dégueuli maritime qu'il choisit de sublimer en les incorporant dans ses œuvres. Ainsi, il établit un lien étroit entre la frontière terrestre et maritime en explorant de nouveaux questionnements.

L'artiste

François-xavier Laloi.jpg

BioGRAPHIE

Né en 1993, l'artiste français, François-Xavier Laloi est connu pour ses sculptures d'assemblages de matériaux issus de la consommation humaine.

Durant ses déambulations dans les environnements urbains et naturels, il constate un abandon à l'égard de certains objets artificiels arrivés en fin de vie et d'utilisation.

En débutant ses récoltes, un flirt s’établit entre l'artiste et ces artefacts. Il est tombé en amour devant eux et cherche à dévoiler la beauté qu'il éprouve à leur égard en leur attribuant une préciosité.

L’œuvre de François-Xavier s'intègre dans un processus de surcyclage dans le but de sacraliser ces rejets de l'humanité.

Il tire la sonnette d'alarme sur une gravité et cherche à faire passer la pilule avec dérision et poésie dans ses œuvres.

 

En 2020, François-Xavier Laloi s'est installé dans les Pouilles, en Italie du Sud, où il poursuit son travail avec cette fois-ci, un intérêt particulier envers la mer et les détritus qu'elle recrache. Ce dégueulis maritime, empreinte des refoulements humains, a, aux yeux de l'artiste, une valeur singulière avec lequel il aime s'amuser pour composer ses assemblages étonnants.