Stone up

Stone up

2019

180 x 42 cm

Cherry wood, bituminous tar, slate.

Private commission, Chinon (Indre et Loire).

  • Description of the work

    The in-situ work Stone Up is part of the Before I was a tree collection . This is a private commission from a private individual in Touraine, who wanted the atiste to create a work of art for him from a cherry tree trunk that he had, despite himself, had to cut down because of disease. In spite of this, this tree had seen three generations pass by. Lying on the ground, nature had already operated its process, it was starting to become humus and something had to be done with it.

    In 2019, during these trips, the artist immediately noticed that Touraine and Chinonais were full of many historical vestiges, in particular these few menhirs (from Breton mean "stone" and yesterday "long" or "standing stone ”) That still populate the region. Having crossed the centuries, they are, according to the artist, the first sculptures erected by man. As for their primary function, it still raises many questions. So he wanted to establish a link with that, to erect a stone vertically is to bring it back to life.

    The first idea was to change wood into stone to make it fossil. Thus in the state of sculpture, it will give it a second breath, a new life, armed against the tests of time to begin a second journey.

    It turned out that for many years, there had been at the bottom of this garden a mound used to burn organic waste when the time came. A heap of ashes which inevitably had become earth again. Nature operated its usual process, having gained the upper hand, a flora was implanted on the surface.

    Undoubtedly for the artist, this artificial base was the ideal and strategic location to erect the sculpture. Positioned on the edge of a crossroads, visibility for passers-by is possible, with the desire that it arouses questions and questions among them.

    Like a phoenix rising from its ashes, this log, which has become a sculptural menhir, has been erected on this artificial plinth, thus being able to come back to life and begin its new cycle. Thus ends and begins a new act.

    This is a unique in-situ piece produced in only one copy.

€0.00Price

Stone up

Stone up

2019

180 x 42 cm

Bois de cerisier, goudron bitumeux, ardoise.

Commande privée, Chinon (Indre et Loire).

  • Description de l'œuvre

    L'oeuvre in-situ Stone Up s'inscrit dans la collection Before I was a tree. Il s'agit d'une commande privée d'un particulier en Touraine, qui souhaitait que l'atiste lui réalise une oeuvre d'art à partir d'un tronc de cerisier qu'il avait dû, malgré lui, abattre pour cause de maladie. En dépit de cela, cet arbre avait vu défiler trois générations. Allongé sur le sol la nature avait déjà opéré son processus, il commençait à devenir humus et il fallait en faire quelque chose.

    En 2019, lors de ces voyages, l'artiste c'est tout de suite aperçu que la Touraine et le Chinonais regorgeait de nombreux vestiges historiques, notamment ces quelques menhirs (du breton mean « pierre » et hier « longue » ou  « pierre debout ») qui peuplent encore la région. Ayants traversés les siècles, ils sont, selon l'artiste, les premières sculptures érigées par l’homme. Quand à leur fonction première, elle suscite encore et toujours de nombreux questionnements. Il a donc voulu établir un lien avec cela, ériger une pierre à la verticale c’est lui redonner vie.

    L'idée première était de changer le bois en pierre pour le rendre fossile. Ainsi en l’état de sculpture, cela lui redonnera un second souffle, une nouvelle vie, armé face aux épreuves du temps pour entamer un second voyage.

    Il s’avérait que depuis de nombreuses années, il y’avait au fond de ce jardin un monticule servant à faire, le moment venu, brûler des déchets organiques. Un tas de cendres qui fatalement était redevenu terre. La nature opérait son processus habituel, ayant repris le dessus, une flore c’était implantée en surface.

    Sans nul doute pour l'artiste, ce socle artificiel était l’emplacement idéal et stratégique pour ériger la sculpture. Positionnée aux abords d’un carrefour, la visibilité pour les passants est possible, avec un désir qu’elle suscite questionnements et interrogations chez ces derniers.

    Tel un phœnix qui renaît de ses cendres, cette grume devenue menhir sculptural, s’est trouvée érigée sur ce socle artificiel pouvant ainsi reprendre vie et entamer son nouveau cycle. Ainsi s’achève et recommence un nouvel acte.

     

    Il s'agit d'une pièce unique in-situ réalisée en 1 seul exemplaire.

     

     

0,00 €Prix